As an independent food business, we are often asked questions about our ice cream – especially about who makes it, what’s in it, and where these ingredients come from.
We have many customers with dietary restrictions or preferences, and we believe in honouring their trust with honesty and by giving them all the information they need to make personal, informed decisions regarding the food they eat. We like it when people ask us what’s in our dishes, and always appreciate questions and feedback.
One of your most frequently asked questions is: Is The Creamery ice cream halaal. The short answer is no.
The long answer is that our Cafés are not halaal, and neither is our Salt River kitchen where we make all our ice cream ourselves. We pride ourselves on full disclosure to all our customers; there are no hidden ingredients in any of our products. For example, we never use flavour extracts such as alcohol-based vanilla essence. We never use gelatine, in our ice cream or our mix ins (eg. marshmallow swirl, jam).
So in short, all our flavours contain no alcohol or gelatine, but we are not certified halaal.
Our cafes and kitchen do not serve or work with alcohol or meat products.
We are unlikely to consider certifying, because most of our small suppliers are not certified halaal, and working with small growers and producers is at the heart of what we do. Thank you for your understanding.
Kate & Team Happiness